simply homemade: zucchini “pasta”

2 Feb

Ahhh how my loves for a good carb surmounts almost all of my passions. Soft or crunchy bread and fresh made pasta dance in my dreams.

Yikes.

Recently, I have been working to improve my carbo-loaded lifestyle and cut back on the no carb left behind mantra I normally sing. I reached out to a friend who practices a mostly raw diet for help and she opened me up to the world of veggie spiralizers and zucchini pasta.

Rushing over to her mountain-top pad, we spiralized and chopped to our little hearts desire producing a delicious and ridiculously nutritious meal that FAR exceeded my expectations. Tasting a bit like bruchetta, this room-temp “pasta” was to die for.

In the mix (adapted from Whole Living)

8 ounces cherry tomatoes sliced

1 clove garlic, thinly sliced

1/4 cup chopped raw walnuts

2 tablespoons torn fresh basil, plus leaves for garnish

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for drizzling

Sea salt

1-2 zucchini, spiralized

In a bowl, combine tomatoes, garlic, walnuts, basil, and oil. Season with salt. Let stand 20 minutes. Toss with zucchini and garnish with basil.

So easy, fresh and delicious, I whip this up in minutes when I’m hungry for a quick dinner or snack.

One Response to “simply homemade: zucchini “pasta””

  1. TWex February 2, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    Yay! Rawesome! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

