semi-homemade: pizza

6 Jul

After craving a really delish thin-crust artisan pizza at work all day, I realized that 1) I cannot afford Pizzaria Mozza right now and 2) that I should probably use that basil plant I bought at Trader Joe’s a few weeks ago (it’s been sadly shrivelling by my window ever since…)

So armed with resolve and boyfriend, we hit Pavillions with the best of intentions- purchase whole wheat pizza dough and create our own culinary masterpieces.

When Pavillions failed us in the dough department I settled on the FAR inferior Boboli pre-baked crust and thus, semi-homemade is born.

Some simple pizza sauce (shamefully store bought as well), sliced mozzarella, farmer’s market tomatoes and red onion as well as some fresh basil completed my creation. Boyfriend went classic with some Hormel pepperoni and shredded mozz.

before

All in all delicious and ridiculously easy. Next time I will definitely attempt an actual dough and maybe some homemade sauce? We shall see…

Does anyone have a good dough recipe I should try?

after. yum.

6 Responses to “semi-homemade: pizza”

  1. MicheleinLA July 6, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    I’m afraid of dough. I can’t seem to win the “rolling pin” challenge. But this one from http://www.eatingwell.com looks fairly failure-free and it’s whole wheat! http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/whole_wheat_pizza_dough.html

  2. Sadey Davis July 11, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    You could also try buying a ball of freshly made pizza dough from a neighborhood pizzeria. It will save you a lot of time and it’s usually very cheap 🙂

    • lavieeuropaa July 11, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

      That’s a great idea, I wouldn’t have thought of that option! We have two fantastic pizzarias near my apartment- I’ll DEFINITELY look into that! Thanks for the tip, Sadey!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. semi-homemade: pasta dinner « LA vie europa - July 7, 2011

    […] I had some organic tomatoes, red onion and basil left over from pizza night (…and I’m cheap) I thought it might act as a good excuse to try  a fresh summer […]

Leave a Reply

