beverly hills: champagne french bakery & cafe

7 Jul

In my quest to infuse European sensibilities into my life, exploring restaurants and tasting the fabulous cuisine around Los Angeles is often the header on my To Do list despite the fact that I am poor (nbd).

In a sneaky and penny-pinching  move today, I convinced my mom to take me to lunch at Champagne, a moderately affordable French bakery and cafe a few blocks from my office in Beverly Hills. Not only is it pretty good, but the outdoor seating is a great place to spot agents, celebrities and their harried assistants.  So fun.

big tuna

I tried the 1/2 tuna sandwich (thankfully NOT over mayo’d) and small cup of FOS (French Onion Soup for those of you who are not obsessive about it as I am…), while mom went for the croque monsieur (Classic Gratined Ham, Swiss Cheese and Bechamel Sauce on Pain de Mie).

you fancy huh

My only regret is not trying the pastries–Champagne has some ridiculously BEAUTIFUL pastries.

Hmmm, guess I’ll just have to go back, dontcha think? (sneaky move of the day #2)

2 Responses to “beverly hills: champagne french bakery & cafe”

  1. Michele Largé July 9, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    So THAT’s why you invited me to lunch…! Over the holidays I was in a cooking-frenzy mood and made my own croque monsieur with the help of Ina Garten: http://tinyurl.com/CroqueMonsieurRecipe. It was delish!

    • lavieeuropaa July 11, 2011 at 9:53 am #

      Yummy! So impressed! What kind of cheese did you use?

Leave a Reply

