strawberry fields forever

7 Jul

snickety snack

I always find that any meal, no matter how normal, is made more European and therefore more enjoyable and lovely when served in a cute bowl with some fancy additions along the way.

So, when my growling stomach woke me up this morning with a vengeance, I knew that my normal “starve like a martyr until I get to work” plan was not in the cards. Remembering the last few fresh farmers market strawberries shivering pathetically in the fridge, I decided that rather than gnawing on them over the sink, I should make this seemingly mundane snacking opportunity into a moment of bliss.

Intrigued by their ruby-redness and come-hither glances, I unceremoniously chopped off their tops, sprinkled them with fresh mint and drizzled them with agave nectar.

 

Breakfast is served.

2 Responses to “strawberry fields forever”

  1. limr July 8, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    What a great idea! I think it forces us to slow down and really savor food, too, and that’s just one more lesson from Europe that I try to keep in my repatriated life.

    I really like your idea for this blog and I’m looking forward to exploring it more.

    • lavieeuropaa July 9, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

      Thank you! Keeping this blog has so encouraged me to appreciate the small pleasures we do have in our everyday life- pausing gives us an opportunity to appreciate the beauty in something as simple as a bowl of strawberries!

      Thanks again for following- I love your work as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

