semi-homemade: farmers market fresh caprese sandwich

18 Jul
20110718-102640.jpg

farmers market fare

What an idyllic weekend! With everyone terrified to drive the streets due to Carmageddon, LA morphed into Small Town U.S.A this weekend. People drove slow, you could get from Hancock Park to Beverly Hills in 15 minutes, and everyone was out and about in their neighborhoods enjoying the Southern California sunshine.

I took the weekend seriously and RELAXED. Slept in till 11am on Saturday, followed by a lovely brunch with boyfriend and a hike up Runyon Canyon. Such a great excuse to move and breathe for an hour. Simply nothing better.

After a wonderful experience at Larchmont Wine and Cheese on Saturday and my free for all at the farmer’s market on Sunday, I decided to put my new, fresh, ingredients to good use and try my hand at recreating one of their famous sandwiches.

I think it turned out quite well!

20110718-102646.jpg

petite goodness

In the mix:

1 fresh tomato, sliced

2 slices mozzarella cheese (I only had low fat/low moisture left over from the pizza- blech- must go for the fresh stuff next time, even better, buratta….)

1/2 mini french baguette

6 basil leaves from my plant

evoo/balsamic

salt and peppah

Slice the baguette lengthwise and top with olive oil and vinegar (however much you want), layer on tomato, mozz and basil, topping the mozz liberally with freshly ground salt and pepper. Cover with the other side of the baguette and bon appetite!

What did you do to slow down this weekend?

4 Responses to “semi-homemade: farmers market fresh caprese sandwich”

  1. Lauren B. July 18, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    Yum! That sandwich is making my mouth water. I am wild about caprese anything–salads, sandwiches, you name it! I think I’ll make one of these this weekend if I can make it to the market. Thanks for sharing!

  2. lavieeuropaa July 18, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    Ah me too- absolutely obsessed and SO easy to make. Pure bliss is as easy as slicing some tomatoes and cheese! Sometimes I like some kalamatas sliced on my sandwich too- that way I can skip the salt, do you add anything else to your caprese to spice it up?

  3. Lauren B. July 19, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Olives are a great idea–I need to try that! I have recently gotten into infused oils, so sometimes instead of using normal olive oil I’ll use some of my shallot-infused oil. Any kind of infused oil will add another flavor to the mix. If I have some extra time, I’ll also reduce some cheaper balsamic on med/high heat with a pinch of sugar, let it cool, and drizzle it on the sandwich or salad. The flavors become more concentrated this way and the consistency is thicker. I call it the poor man’s expensive balsamic! 🙂

    • lavieeuropaa July 19, 2011 at 10:47 am #

      Wow that shallot olive oil sounds divine….I’m also trying that balsamic reduction ASAP! Such a great suggestion and easy on my rickety budget… Thanks Lauren!

Leave a Reply

