semi homemade: fresh vegetable soup

19 Jul

delish

When I was abroad in London, my dad sent me a great soup recipe that was good for me and ridiculously easy on the wallet.

After an initial failed tasteless attempt, I proceeded to make it with wild abandon in giant batches every few weeks and unfreeze a Tupperware full for lunch or dinner. Served with a hunk of country bread from Borough Market, there was almost nothing better and I felt so very europa with every bite.

Below is my LA outpost version with the fresh farmers market veggies I bought Sunday. The smell brought me straight back to my flat on Bedford Place and making it was exceptionally therapeutic.

20110719-111737.jpg

fresh veggies

In the mix:

3/4 box TJ’s low sodium vegetable broth

3 cups water

1/2 shallot, diced

1/2 red onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, sliced

1 ripe tomato

1 medium leek, sliced in half rounds

4 red potatoes, roughly chopped

whatever was left of my button mushrooms (6 maybe?)

1 courgette (aka zucchini)

1 tsp rosemary

evoo

salt and peppah to taste

Basically, sautee the garlic, shallots and onion in the olive oil. Pour in the broth and water and bring to boil. Then, toss in the heartier veggies (potatoes, then zucchini) first, followed by the rest. Simmer until you can’t wait any longer (45 mins-ish?), serve and enjoy!

20110719-111748.jpg

bubble bubble...

Leave a Reply

