small pleasures: surprise postcards

4 Aug

There are something things that just never lose their charm despite all of the oft-gross, new-fangled options swirling around them.

The Postcard is one of them.

Currently existing in a world of emails, tweets, ping backs, hash tags (need I go on)…. The Postcard is a small, endearing reminder of simpler times when people hand wrote words to those they cared for.

So you can imagine my shock and utter delight when I actually opened my mailbox and found something other than a Valpack mailing waiting for me.

This pale purple card from one of my loveliest friends now lives on my desk- a daily reminder that not only is today my lucky day- but that someone out there loves me enough to write it down in pen.

So, it is with renewed vigor that I vow to send more cards to those I love. After all, it is oh so much better than a text, isn’t it?

4 Responses to “small pleasures: surprise postcards”

  1. Tiffany August 4, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    Oh my gosh! This is so true! One of my good friends sent me a postcard from her cruise and it was ridiculously exciting! Oh the power of a hand-written note 🙂 (personal and professional ones!)

    • lavieeuropaa August 4, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

      It has amazing powers and is VASTLY under-appreciated….

  2. Lauren B. August 6, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    Receiving a postcard in the mail always makes me feel like a million bucks as well. I have been meaning to take the time to write to a few friends and I think you’ve inspired me to actually do it!

    • lavieeuropaa August 7, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

      Fantastic! I know my next step is to purchase some pretty stationary….. It just makes the whole process more enjoyable, no?

Leave a Reply

