these words: take care

15 Sep

“Treat your body like a temple, not a woodshed….If you take good care of it, your body can take you wherever you want to go, with the power and the strength and energy and vitality you will need to get there.”

~ Jim Rohn

A good friend of mine has recently been trying a raw/vegan diet to “clean up” a bit, and I can’t help but admire her tenacity and dedication to protecting and enhancing her life through this (often intense) lifestyle. A raw way of eating requires a lot of work, but she has somehow made it happen gracefully and with joy.

As someone who thrives on cheese, bread etc. our macrobiotic /vegan dinner last night at Real Food Daily inspired me to clean house a bit myself… Now I don’t think I’m going to be able to jump mung-bean first into the raw or even vegan lifestyle, but I will begin to make more of an effort to pay attention to what I put in my mouth and how it will affect my “temple”.

 (Curious?? For a recent LA Times article on macrobiotic dining click here)

5 Responses to “these words: take care”

  1. MicheleinLA September 15, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    What were the items pictured on the plate? If they were”mung beans” (huh?) then maybe I would jump!

    • lavieeuropaa September 15, 2011 at 11:11 am #

      It was DELICIOUS! Brown rice is pictured, but I got quinoa instead with beans, greens, land and sea vegetables, pressed salad, tahini dressing. So healthy and seriously, so good.

  2. actorsdiet September 15, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    i believe in balance – i love kale and brown rice just as much as the next health foodie but i equally adore high fructose corn syrup filled deep fried fast food

    • lavieeuropaa September 15, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

      Correct! Balance is soooo important, especially in all things food, mind and body. I think for me a little balance in the way of whole foods may be a good move right now…

  3. Tiffany September 21, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Awww, I just read this! Thank you for the shout out! Raw dieting in MN was impossible, but I’m so thankful to be back in LA where the produce and options are plentiful! 🙂 Back on the raw train!

Leave a Reply

