healthifying my life

26 Sep

WHEW! It has been a whirlwind this past week- thus my lack of posts. But despite my exciting, yet busy, schedule I have been making a concerted effort to eat and be healthier in general.

Since I’ve been attempting to ride the healthy train these past few weeks, I stopped at my local Trader Joe’s for some yummy inspiration and came out with quite a few items to healthify my life.

The raw agave, walnuts and ground flaxseed have been added to my instant oatmeal making for a delicious and nutritious (haha.)  spin on my usually boring oats.

The kale is steamed, the brown rice is heated (thankgodinheaven for TJ’s frozen brown rice), the baked savory tofu is cubed and the edemame is spooned all into a little Gladeware of goodness.

I made my very own dressing from tahini, olive oil, pepper and a biiiit of rice milk. Shake it all up and you have a ridic good, fast and easy lunch on your hands.

Pair with a 6am hot yoga class three days a week and your mom will think you changed your name to Moon Flower and only wear Birkenstocks and stopped shaving your legs and may or may not have a boyfriend from a commune named Running Wolf…

That’s not such a bad thing though, it is?

xoxo,

Moon Flower

6 Responses to “healthifying my life”

  1. Lauren B. September 27, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    Haha I can totally relate to this post! I’ve also been *trying* to eat healthier, which includes more brown rice, whole grains, and fresh veggies. It is funny how the healthy California lifestyle can rub off on you though! Last time I visited my family in the Bay Area, I came back to Seattle with a yoga obsession and a new gluten free diet (which lasted all of one week). I can’t say it’s a bad thing though! 🙂

  2. lavieeuropaa September 27, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    Love the yoga- hate the gluten free! Who can LIVE without bread (unless you actually have a gluten intolerance, in which case- I’m sorry…) The only issue I’ve been encountering in my healthy quest is that I seem to be a bottomless pit of hunger- tips Lauren? Anyone?

    • Lauren B. September 27, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

      Nope, I am not actually gluten intolerant (thank goodness) and I’m back to my gluten-loving ways now! In terms of hunger, I had to come to terms with the fact that I have to snack throughout the day, otherwise I turn into a ravenous beast. I try to keep healthy snacks in my purse at all times, like walnuts and dried cranberries or kale chips. Snacking throughout the day makes me feel way less hungry overall. I also find that healthy proteins make me feel more satisfied–like cottage cheese, hummus, or yogurt.

      • lavieeuropaa September 27, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

        Kale chips- that sounds delicious! Do you make or buy?? I’m a snacker too, definitely will give the hummus etc. a go. As a vegetarian, I think some more non-animal protein in my life could do me well! Thanks Lauren!

  3. Lauren B. September 27, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    Kale chips are super easy to make! http://smittenkitchen.com/2010/03/baked-kale-chips/. Watch out though–they are so addictive. Enjoy!

    • lavieeuropaa September 28, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

      This is PERFECT for the giant bag of kale sitting in my fridge. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

