happy birthday month

1 Oct

I like a good, solid Fall, but I have to say there is something so magical about October that it cannot be matched. As a month, October is so quintessentially Fall that you can feel it in the air, in the way your toes feel in boots, the way your hair falls as if to sigh in relief from the heat of summer (especially if you’ve been existing in LA as I have).

October also marks a special month for me and my mother as it is our Birthday Month. With birthdays one day apart, mine the 30th, her’s the 31st (Halloween babies), we have always ushered in what we feel as the official start of Fall with the continued celebration of Birthday Month. As far back as I can remember, Birthday Month is full of special cards sent for no other reason than to make someone smile, surprise mani/pedis at the local nail salon, cozy nights in with a good Halloween-themed movie (and by that I mean Hocus Pocus or the like…), and pounds and pounds of candy corn, eaten one colored layer at a time. Birthday Month, or Fall, for me not only marks the bursting possibility of a new season in which to exist brilliantly in, but also a special moment to bond with my mother, and share this special gift we have been given.

Happy Fall everyone!

3 Responses to “happy birthday month”

  1. Michele Largé October 1, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    Cheers to you my little, tremendously-overdue-but-worth-the-wait pumpkin baby!! Happy birthday month darling!

  2. TIffany October 3, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    I can’t wait to enjoy ALL of these special October festivities with you! (even though I’m a big pansy and won’t do well with the scary movies… how about Hocus Pocus? :D)

Leave a Reply

