these words: lessons

2 Nov

“A lesson will keep repeating itself until it is learned. Life first will send the lesson to you in the size of a pebble; if you ignore the pebble, then life will send you a brick; if you ignore the brick, life will send you a brick wall; if you ignore the brick wall, life will send you a demolition truck.”

-Oprah

I have been thinking a lot about this. This idea of learning from life experiences is really meaningful to me ( and probably to a lot of my post-grad peers) right now. Life seems to be coming at my fast and furious and sometimes I feel like I can’t quite figure which way is up. It makes me want to give up, call in sick and hide under the covers until someone tells me what the hell is going on next, but we all know that’s not really an option….most of the time.

The mis-matched life I’m currently leading has lead to some amazing, disappointing and fun lessons that I think I need to pay a bit more attention to. I need to work on squeezing a bit more JOY out of the pulp of life. Really make it work for me. Really fight for the europa in the regular.

I don’t know, I think it’s a phase, but I guess it’s better to learn from the phase before that demolition truck comes a-knockin’… right, people?

One Response to “these words: lessons”

  1. Michele Largé (@MicheleinLA) November 2, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    I really thought about your post today – and mostly agree with it. Yes, life is constantly presenting us (in subtle or in-your-face ways) with opportunities to learn, grow, and evolve. Sometimes we listen and take action. Other times we seem to blindly ignore the messages, only to repeat the same things over again and again.
    What I think I’m learning is that the lessons may not be heeded every time, not because we are ignorant or willful, but because there are other things that still need to be experienced before we can truly appreciate and apply the lesson we’re being taught.
    Also, the lesson may not be there to teach us something solely about ourselves. Maybe it will teach us to act more compassionately toward others, or truly understand what it’s like to be in need or lost, or not be so quick to pass judgment.
    The older I get, the more amazed I am on how much I still don’t know. But that doesn’t (always) depress or engulf me with self-loathing. Quite the opposite. It has a more invigorating effect because it means that I’m still growing, changing and evolving – and that means I’m still alive and that the planet isn’t quite done with me yet.

Leave a Reply

