the nutcracker

21 Dec

Whether or not you grew up in a big city like I did, or in a small town, it is likely that you have seen, heard or been a part of some iteration of The Nutcracker.

To me, The Nutcracker marks that Christmas is right around the corner- it means things are merry and bright.

Over the years, I have danced with my mother in the aisle ways, sipped hot coco at intermission with friends and even squirmed in my seat when one of the dancers has a particularly nasty slip-up.

This year, just as I did when growing up in San Francisco, I visited the War Memorial Opera House for one of the most beautiful portrayals of The Nutcracker the world has to offer (in my opinion). With a 5-year-old seated on my lap, this performance was one of the loveliest, since I could experience the wonder and beauty again through an entire different lens.

So, with the Holidays upon us and Christmas less than a week away (!!!), take some time to think about your favorite Holiday traditions, and the people who make them all the more special.

5 Responses to “the nutcracker”

  1. actorsdiet December 21, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    i haven’t seen the nutcracker in forever! last time was on vacay in cancun – kinda weird…

    • lavieeuropaa December 21, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

      Cancun?! Wow that is an “off the beaten path” nutcracker performance- sounds like fun though!!

  2. Steve Fawthrop December 21, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    Your reference caught my eye since my daughter, Hayley, performed in “Nutcracker” multiple times with a couple of dance companies. I even got to perform as a “party parent” in the opening scene for two years. It was a fun way to spend time with her. She did not participate this year so it seemed like there was a real void. I felt compelled to play the soundtrack over the weekend.

    I will admit, thought, it was hard to hear the music in August in a hot studio when the first castings were being done. I don’t miss that!

    • lavieeuropaa December 22, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

      It is definitely a special holiday tradition for so many families! How wonderful that you all got to be an important part of it!

  3. Michele Largé December 31, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Even though Christmas is now behind us and the end of the year is hours away – I read your beautiful post and remembered back to those many, many performances we were so lucky to share together. It’s memories like these – whether triggered by the sound of the first few notes on the orchestra, or putting on your best holiday dress – that will never age, and hopefully never fade completely. These are the real gifts of the holiday. Not things we bought or received. It’s a nice thing to know that we’ll always have these experiences and memories and that nothing can take them away.

Leave a Reply

